Wrestler of the Year: Jha’Quan Anderson, Sr., Rockdale County

Rockdale County’s Jha’Quan Anderson put together a strong senior season after posting a 45-2 record that featured winning his weight class at the East Metro Championships, Area 8-AAAAAAA meet and the Class AAAAAAA sectionals meet before finishing as the 182-pound state runner-up. Anderson finishes his career at Rockdale as a two-time state runner-up at 182 pounds and is set to wrestle at the collegiate level with offers from UNC Pembroke, Newberry, Coker College and Gardner-Webb.

Coach of the Year: Dave Baros, Rockdale County

Rockdale County head wrestling coach Dave Baros had yet another strong 2018-19 season running the Bulldogs’ program after leading them to the Class AAAAAAA state duals as well as helping five wrestlers place at the state traditional championships. Both Jha’Quan Anderson (182) and Ed Pollard (285) reached the finals under Baros’s guidance.


285: Ed Pollard, Jr., Rockdale County

47-6, Class AAAAAAA state runner-up, East Metro champion

220: Micah Bryant, Newton

Class AAAAAAA state qualifier

195: Kaleb Walley, Soph., Rockdale County

33-8, sixth at Class AAAAAAA state meet, East Metro champion

182: Markis Hill, Sr., Rockdale County

41-7, fifth at Class AAAAAAA state meet, East Metro champion

170: Julian Tillman, Sr., Salem

Class AAAA state qualifier

160: CJ McCollum, Sr., Rockdale County

36-11, sixth at Class AAAAAAA state meet, East Metro champion

152: Rodney Winston, Sr., Rockdale County

40-5, fourth at Class AAAAAAA state meet, East Metro champion

145: Yamon Carr, Sr., Heritage

Sixth at Class AAAAAA state meet, East Metro champion

138: Kemon Chapman, Rockdale County

Class AAAAAAA state qualifier

132: Myran Henderson, Heritage

Class AAAAAA state qualifier

120: Robert Perez, Rockdale County

27-17, Class AAAAAAA state qualifier

113: Austin Wilson, Eastside

Third at Class AAAA state meet

106: Aamari Griffin, Rockdale County

Class AAAAAAA sectionals qualifier


285: Christion Curry, Eastside

220: Chris Woods, Rockdale County

195: Seth Martin, Eastside

182: Dylan Beck, Heritage

170: Will Parker, Heritage

160: Eli Owens, Heritage

152: Will Gaither, Eastside

145: J’Sean Thomas, Salem

138: Jahari Embden, Salem

138: Anthony Hamilton, Heritage

132: Antonio Lucero, Rockdale County

126: Hunter Fuqua, Eastside

120: Zack Cason, Eastside

113: Daylen Lackey, Heritage

106: Tripp Rouse, Heritage

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.